Home > Blog Posts, Product Reviews > Cookies and Candy

Cookies and Candy

I am so glad to see that there are still steady visitors to this blog. I am so sorry that I have not had any time at all to think of writing anything new. It has been a couple of months, so I thought I really should add another blog post or too. I do mean to write more about my personal experiences with food allergies soon, but I will get to that later.

I wanted to write more on the theme of what packaged foods you can eat for dessert, since a lot of my time in the grocery is spent walking up and down the aisles reading the ingredients of everything including bread. Being allergic too desserts also made me feel left out at parties when I could not eat certain foods, so I wanted to just add some recommendations.

I hope you did find the previous article on soy lecithin helpful. A lot of candy or cookies do not have soy oil or protein in it. I have noticed that palm, sunflower, safflower, and canola are common in health food brands. However, soy lecithin (an emulsifier) is a common ingredient. I am highly allergic to soy, but I have never had an allergic reaction to food with soy lecithin in it and am greatful for the news that we are not supposed to be allergic to it. I recommend trying it, at your own risk. However, making your own deserts is always the best even though it is time consuming.

Having reviewed a lot of candy and cookie brands, I wanted to make a list of suggestions to try. A lot of these brands can be found in the health food aisles or at stores like Whole Foods, Trader Joe’s, or Wild Oats. Unfortunately, the prices of these brands are higher than the ones with soy and preservatives in it. Given that I have not had an allergic reaction to soy lecithin, I do include food with soy lecithin in this list. Always double check the ingredients, because the companies do change what they use and vary the ingredients with each product.

  • Enjoy Life– It is an allergy friendly company!
  • Back to nature– Many of their cookies are made with palm oil, and do not even have soy lecithin in them.
  • Mi-del– Their line of cookies include gluten free options.
  • Newman’s Own Organics– I love their mint sandwich cookies and mint cups.
  • Late July– I love their vanilla sandwich cookies.
  • Crispy Cat Mint Coconut Candy Bar– I found it at Whole Foods. It lists Coconut officially as a tree nut, but I’m not allergic to it, and think of it as a fruit.
  • 365 Brand (Whole Foods)– Their sandwich cookies and graham crackers are a less expensive option.
  • Trader Joe’s Brand– Check out their graham crackers and candy, and of course their English Muffins, breads, and other packaged products (but that’s for another article.)
  • “Let’s Do Organic” Ice Cream Cones from Edward & Sons
  • Breyer’s Ice Cream
  • Elite-This is an Israeli brand. It is sometimes found in the Kosher section of grocery stores. I love the taste of their chocolate. They have lecithin free candy bars, in case you are worried about eating soy lecithin.
  • Dansk Cookies- The ones in those tins, or other shortbread cookies.
  • Kit Kat, Hershey’s, Nestle, Lindt Chocolate, or just about any plain chocolate products, including chocolate milk (as long as you’re not allergic to chocolate)
  • Don’t forget that gummy candy, fruit snacks, fruit leather, dried fruit, and real fruit also are very allergy friendly dessert options. Try Red Vines, instead of Twizzlers.
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

