Home > Blog Posts, Health, Product Reviews > Vitamins and food allergies

Vitamins and food allergies

When I was a child, I never had an allergic reaction to vitamins. I used to take a Centrum vitamin every once in a while. I am not a big vitamin user, but every once in awhile I have the thought that I really should take a vitamin again because I do not get enough vegetables or calcium in my diet. One day, I decided to just pick up a bottle of Centrum vitamins, like I used to take, and took one. I did not think that they would have changed the ingredients, but they did. I had an allergic reaction. The reaction was not too serious. I took a Benedryl and drank a lot of water and it eventually went away. However, I realized only after the reaction that they had added soy to Centrum vitamins. Some Centrum brand vitamins have soy in them and others do not. You need to make sure that you read the labels. Some vitamins say that they have been made without soy or other allergens. Gummy vitamins are an option now, that were not available when I was a kid. These are soy free. I think that soy should be banned from vitamins, but it seems to be a fad to add soy to everything these days. I definitely learned my lesson, to always check ingredients of the package, because companies will change the ingredients without telling the customers.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

